Choose the California online real estate appraisal courses that are right for you
All individual California real estate appraisal courses are self-paced, state-approved and conveniently available anytime, anywhere.
There are no courses available that match your criteria.
California Appraisal License Requirements
The information contained below is designed to provide a summary of the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements established by the California Department of Consumer Affairs Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers. The information provided below can be found on the Board’s website. However, we recommend you contact the Board for more detailed information and for any changes which may have occurred.
California Appraisal Licensure Levels:
Certified Residential License
Certified General License
California Appraisal Licensure Requirements:
Must be at least 18 years of age
Proved proof of legal presence in the United States
Must be of good moral character
Must meet the educational requirement for the applying level of licensure
Must meet the experience requirement for the applying level of licensure
For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associates Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required.
For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelors Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters is also required.
Satisfactory completion of the state examination
Submit application, required documents, and associated fees.
California Appraisal Education Requirements:
150 hours for the Trainee which consist of the following courses: Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), 15 Hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent (15 hours), Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours), Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), Residential Report Writing and Case Studies (15 Hours), Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approach (30 hours)
150 hours for the Residential Licensed Appraiser which include the same hour requirement as the Trainee level
200 Hours for the Certified Residential Appraiser which consist of the same 150 hours of Licensed Appraiser education AND: Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours), Advanced Residential Application and Case Studies (15 hours), Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (20 hours)
300 hours for the Certified General Appraiser which includes the same 200 hours for the Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser education AND: General Appraiser Sales Comparison and Income Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach (15 hours), General Appraiser Income Approach (45 hours), General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (10 hours), General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (15 hours)
Trainee – no work experience requirement
Residential Licensed Appraiser – 2000 hours in no less than 12 months
Certified Residential Appraiser – 2500 hours in no less than 30 months
Certified General Appraiser – 3000 hours in no less than 30 months with at least 1500 hours of experience in non-residential appraisals
Effective January 1, 2020
Upgrade application must include proof of all AQB required education, plus completion certificates for the following:
A 7-hour USPAP course taken within two (2) years prior to submission of the upgrade application; and
A 4-hour Laws and Regulations course taken within four (4) years prior to the submission of the upgrade application
the new credential will be valid for two (2) years, and it will start the continuing education cycle over. Please call the bureau if you have questions regarding upgrading a license.
California Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements:
A full CE Renewal is the second renewal after the beginning of your CE Cycle. The required education for this renewal includes the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course taken in your USPAP-only renewal (above), but also must have an additional 7-hour National USPAP Update Course taken within the second 2 years of the license term and a 4-hour Laws and Regulations course.
Those three courses total 18 of the 56 hours required for the CE Cycle, leaving 38 hours of electives. In order to avoid a potential lapse in your license renewal applications should be submitted 90 days prior to your expiration date.
All acceptable continuing education must be taken within the licensees CE Cycle. A licensees original CE Cycle start date will begin with the issuance date of their initial license, and normally runs for a period of four years provided the USPAP Renewal is not renewed on a late basis. The ending date of a CE Cycle will be the expiration date of the CE Renewal. The CE Cycle then starts over and the licensees new CE Cycle Start date will be the issuance date of the CE Renewal.